When taking a Texas Concealed Handgun Licesnse (CHL) class at TargetMaster, expect to learn relevant real world material along with the rules and regulations necessary to pass the test. Our ability to instruct up to 18 students per class in our facility has enabled us to offer a better teacher to student ratio so you can have your questions answered.
We offer classes for the New first time CHL's including the following:
Professional classroom instruction with Texas certified and insured instructors
Range qualification on Texas Department of Public Safety approved range
Eye and Ear protection
What to Bring with You
Factory Ammo (50 rounds, no Bi-Metal or Steel Core)
Driver’s License or State ID Card
The class teaches information on the laws dealing with the use of deadly force, carrying of a concealed handgun, and the responsibility of carrying and discharging a firearm in self-defense. However, because the class is based on teaching a person the laws of Texas about using a firearm, it assumes that the person already knows how to shoot, so there will be very little training in the basics of firing a pistol.
If you need to have the basics covered, please sign up for our private instruction.
Call for more detailed information on upcoming classes.
All Students need to Go to https://txapps.texas.gov/txapp/txdps/chl/ to start your application On-line at the end of the application, click "print checklist" and bring the Bar-Coded form with you to class then go to L1 Fingerprinting.
Know what Austin's fees are and what you are required to do to get your license here--> Fees & Required Documents (PDF)
Click Here to See Our Up Coming Class Schedule
|Getting your license for the first time or renewing one that has been expired for more than a year?
Our 1 day course is taught on a Saturday from 9 am to 4 pm (this will include a hour-long lunch break and short breaks during the day)
Our courses includes:
Classroom Portion, Written Test & Shooting Test will all done on that same day
We can no longer do the fingerprints here, as the State of Texas now requires and accepts only the L1 Fingerprinting that are scanned and sent down by L1 Fingerprinting. We can still do the any notary work here, if you have a paper application.
This course is only $90 with all items above included.
There is also a $140 state fee. (unless you are eligible for any of the State's Discounts)
For specifics on Texas CHL rules and regulations, click on this link to the Texas Department of Public Safety FAQ page. For the Authoritative comprehensive online resource to the Texas CHL program, please follow this link to the Texas Department of Public Safety Concealed Handgun Licensing Page.
Cancelations or Reschedules: If you cannot attend the class you signed up for, you must give at least 24 hours notice to avoid a cancelation charge. Any no-shows who do not call before the start of class will not receive a refund.
Please contact us by phone or email if you can’t make the class and we will be happy to move you into another class.
Texas LawShield -- Here on the 4th Wednesday of the Month
Why Attend A Gun Law Seminar?
Because You Need To Be Armed With Knowledge
Don't think anything bad can happen to you if you own a gun? The fact is that it can and does to legal gun owners everyday. Come join experienced program attorneys, police and our members as they explain the basic laws and strategies gun owners need to stay out of trouble. Further, receive helpful and experienced advice on what to do if you are forced to protect yourself. Know the current state of the law. Only by legal gun owners knowing the law can we protect all of our 2nd Amendment rights. Gun Law Workshop Featuring Open Carry
Next US Law Shield Gun Law Workshop Tickets for sale online only.
There are 2 Keurig Coffee makers in the classroom and you are welcome to bring your own K-Cups for tea, hot chocolate or coffees.